Out with the old, in with the new

Hello!

I can’t believe it has been over a month since my last post! December has flown by and now the final few hours of 2014 are here!

December and the Christmas season is such a busy time; this year has seem particularly rushed for me as any third year degree student may sympathise with, my term only finishing 5 days before the big day itself, and also working all hours in between! Despite this, I spent a lovely few days with family and catching up with friends and was spoilt with some lovely gifts.

Some of my favourites were: a selfie stick (which I think must be the Western world’s most popular present this year as so many people have had them popping up over social media!), some lovely new clothes and boots, a vintage clock, and more Disney DVDs to add to my ever-growing collection šŸ˜‰

I felt that I couldn’t leave 2014 without writing a final blog post to celebrate and remember some of what 2014 has had in store for me. So here are some of my favourites from 2014 to share with you!

1. Music

Two songs sum it up for me this year – not because they have had any particular relevance to events of the year, but purely because I have played them over and over religiously. I’m a sucker for an uplifting ballad, and both of these do just that for me.

Sam Smith – Lay Me Down (Acoustic Version)

I’m so besotted with Sam Smith’s voice and I love all of his music, but this song, especially this acoustic version of the original, is the epitome of his skill and the music he makes. My training in Musical Theatre makes me go a bit geeky and analytical over his voice and the power and control that he has over it.

Sia – Chandelier

Again, this song has been played endlessly since its release, and it never fails to make me feel SOMETHING – although I’m not really sure what that something is. Perhaps it is also to do with Sia’s intriguing choice as a performer to always have her back to the audience, or the fantasticĀ Dance Mom’sĀ Maddie Ziegler who features in the music video.

Definitely my two song choices of the year!

2. FilmĀ 

The Other Woman – A really, really funny “chick flick”/ romantic comedy which I howled at in the cinema when I watched it earlier this year. Plus, it features Cameron Diaz, an actress I love in almost every role she plays.

Maleficent – It’s the cinematic equivalent of WickedĀ in the theatre – a classic Disney story told from the evil witch/queen’s perspective. But no animation. I thought Angelina Jolie was perfectly cast for the role, and it was the first film I ever saw in 3D, and coincidentally, on my 21st birthday – yes I’m a bit behind the times!

3.Ā MemoriesĀ 

I think the most significant memories for me this year have been turning 21 and all my birthday celebrations including a garden tea party, afternoon tea, my first trip to a spa, and beautiful keepsake gifts. My InterRailing trip across Europe has to be right up at the top too. I still can’t believe I travelled to so many countries, and made so many memories, meeting so many new people, with two very special friends.

4. Guilty pleasures

Perhaps a sign that I am growing up and becoming a (boring?) adult are the things I have taken guilty pleasure in this year. I becameĀ an avid fan of both The Great British Bake Off and The Apprentice this year, not that this makes me a boring adult at all! However, I think the engrossing conversations I had with the elderly customers about these television shows in the tea room at work, changes things a bit. I also have taken a rather large fancy to fruit teas, especially if they’re in cute cups!

5. New Year’s ResolutionĀ 

Like every year, I made a list of achievements I’d like to have accomplished by today! Ironically, I didn’t complete many of them, which is why this year I’ve decided not to write any, to avoid the guilt at the end of each year! Two of my best (read: most cringiest) unfulfilled claims for 2014 were:

  1. To get a four pack – HAHAH. Not even close.
  2. Read a novel in French. – Hear me out on this one. I wanted to refresh my French, however, I think I overestimated how difficult and time consuming that would be! Perhaps I’ll start with children’s books!

With just under two hours to go until the new year begins, I have been anticipating what 2015 will bring for me. The end of my degree, graduation and a huge leap into the great wide world of work and grown up-ness is perhaps one of the largest things I have looming. So whilst I haven’t made any New Year’s Resolutions as such, I’ve got a few focuses for this year:

Career. Self-belief, and generally just self (without implying selfish!), and health.

And of course, lots of happiness, new memories and opportunities I hope!

New Year, yes, but essentially just a new day too! So really we have 365 chances to get it right! šŸ˜‰

That’s my last ramble of 2014, and a chance for those of you reading to learn a bit more about me, as I reflect on the last year.

Thanks for reading, and see you on the other side in 2015,

Happy New Year!

Jasmine x

Leave a comment