The whirlwind month of June

Hello!

I wanted to do a brief catch up post as I’ve been absent for so long (again) and wanted to share the crazy antics I got up to in June. July has started in a much quieter way but June on the other hand was manic, full of crazy memories, and significant moments!

1. First up, the Colour Rush Obstacle Run in Windsor. Similar to the Holi Festivals and the other powder paint celebrations, this one is a little different in that you’re running and hurling yourselves over obstacles in between, before celebrating with music and colour galore upon completing the 5 kilometre course.

My friends and I embracing the colour

My friends and I embracing the colour!

Me - post run and celebration!

Me – post run and celebration!

Amazing shot of the post run party taken by my friend Joanne

Amazing shot of the post run party taken by my friend Joanne

2. I then had a manic week completing my final ever showcase at the Leicester Square Theatre, London in front of an audience of industry professionals and agents. It was daunting to say the least! The following day was my 22nd birthday and whilst we were in London, I had a surprise in store planned by my lovely friends!

MEMPHIS THE MUSICAL!

Now, I really am not over-exaggerating when I say it is one of the best musicals I have seen and one of the most diverse, refreshing pieces of theatre currently on the West End. I would highly recommend going to see it if you have the chance to. It features Beverley Knight who plays the lead role Felicia until October 2015 and well…her vocal agility and stamina is simply astounding. Being a dancer myself, there is nothing more inspiring and exciting than to watch a musical with good choreography and phenomenal dancers – and this show certainly had that! The soundtrack is great too – if you like rhythm and blues, soul, gospel and rock ‘n’ roll then you’ll love it! Right after I had finished watching it, I was ready to go and see it all over again. We also waited at the stage door and met a few of the cast after the show, including Beverley Knight herself. Despite probably being exhausted and saying she had places to get to, she still saved a minute to have a photo with us!

Here’s my face of surprise and sheer excitement when I discovered where we were going (accompanied by a sombrero from Chiquitos!)

Memphis

3. END OF UNIVERSITY!

The following day was my final day at university and what an emotional day it was! Studying Musical Theatre, my peers and teachers have all become part of a family – much closer than one might in a typical university environment. I am still coming to the terms of officially being in the big bad world – but more on that to come on the blog soon! To celebrate finishing our degrees….

4. We went to IBIZA!

Despite hardly getting any tan at all, I spent a fantastic week in Ibiza with some of my very best uni pals! We chose pool side and a selection of craziness in the evenings – we weren’t cut out for the madness in San Antonio every night! There’s so much I didn’t get to do and see there so I would love to go back. But I did watch some beautiful sunsets at the famous Cafe Mambo, went to a hippie beach party, went on a pedalo with a slide into the sea, and generally had a beautiful week in the sunshine! There isn’t one photo that can sum up the time we had, so you’ll just have to use your imaginations for that one! 😉

After doing a 38 hour stint of staying awake, I recovered and returned to Colchester to take part in a new piece of musical theatre writing at the Mercury Theatre. It was great to perform on that stage to end my time as a student there.

And with that came the end of the month and the end of all my commitments for the foreseeable future. That’s right; no education, no job (worryingly!) and nothing in the diary. A very strange thought and certainly one I am trying to rectify ASAP. I’ll be posting about my experience of finishing university and the Graduate Blues – so look out for that one!

Thanks for reading,

Jasmine x

Leave a comment