The Graduate Blues: Part One – The Discovery

Hello!

Well here I was thinking I’d coined a witty phrase to describe that wallowing feeling which follows the anti-climax of graduating from university. A simple web search proved me wrong. There are hundreds of articles about it. This proves one point though I guess; it is a very real thing and I don’t feel quite so bad now for having found myself in this position. Despite there already being a lot said on the topic, it is currently very topical for thousands of you, who, like me, have just finished their university education and are suddenly wondering: What do I do now?; What is my purpose in life? Why can’t I get a job? How can I afford to live? Who even am I? As exaggerated as they may seem, these are along the lines of the things that have been running through my mind for the past week.

Now I personally have seen ‘The Graduate Blues’ manifest itself in two different ways. Firstly, the feelings I described above. You have just finished countless years of education, working solidly in a subject to help better your career. You get that sense of elation and feel like you have the world at your feet. However, within a few days or weeks of returning home, you still have no job, little money, and slowly driving your self insane from boredom.

The second type, however, is something I recognised in a friend of mine. She had a job throughout our final year of studying and has stayed in our university town for the rest of summer to continue working that job full time. Aside from a few weeks’ break, she has launched herself straight into the working world, pulling pints and serving food. It is not that she feels the job is inadequate for her at all, but she feels that all of that hard work has been rewarded with a reality check: no rest and yet more hard work.

Now, as cheery as I may be making this (well, I am trying my best!), the media are recognising this as a very real issue. I’m in no position to tell anyone who is suffering how to overcome this, but rather just sharing my feelings too in the hope that this dreaded feeling passes soon.

It was a really deflating moment when I realised the most exciting prospect of this week was an eye test, and the first time I’d left the house in days. It is even such a relief to be blogging because up until several hours ago, I was thinking I was heading in a downward spiral due to some inferiority on my behalf. It is a relief in some sense to know that this is completely normal. I hope anyone reading this can get the same comfort also. It is perfectly normal to feel “down in the dumps”, irritable, low, anxious, numb and unmotivated – to name just a few.

I’m now gaining back some purpose by making it my mission to find methods to help lift my mood and blog them to share with others, and hopefully spread some happiness to some other struggling graduates.

For now, keep your mind busy! Read books, raid Netflix and get hooked on a new series.

What is it that you always wanted to do or wished you had time for when you were busy? 

Whatever that thing is, do it (within reason!)

Keep checking back, I’ll be writing again soon!

Jasmine X

[Image credits: Someecards, Huffington Post]

Leave a comment