The Graduate Blues Part 2: Fighting the Frown

I’ve spent the last few days thinking hard and trying to find resolutions to the graduate blues, so that I can shed some more insight on our current gloomy disposition. I was motivated to write again today, after yet another rejection for some part time retail work.

But this post is not an opportunity to ruminate further on our ongoing unemployment and the feelings that are associated with that, but more the things we can do to battle it. Apologies for the cheesy title…although I have a lot of time on my hands, I was not enlightened by anything more witty or inventive. But it’s accurate…below I have put together a few things (some tried and tested) that might lift those blues. Probably nothing original but some sort of guide and of some use I hope! It is a long one so hang on in there!

>> Do at least one productive or proactive task each day. Whether this be career related, running errands, organising paperwork, tidying your room, replying to emails etc. When you have no commitments, it can become easy to fall into the same routine and you can become unmotivated. Keep yourself in that “switched on” frame of mind by just completing one productive task every day. You also maintain that sense of achievement, of having completed something, regardless of how small this may seem. On a personal note, it stops me from thinking that I have let the day go by and it have been a wasted day.

>> Update your CV and work on professional development. This is similar to the above and obvious, perhaps. As a graduate, you expect and hope that your first job will be relevant to the degree or training you have just undertaken. It is quite often the case that it will not be. So whilst you might sitting around trying to find a job or working in a job which you feel overqualified for, keep up your skill and passion for what you have trained for. If you are looking for work, spend some time editing and updating  your CV. Look at not only the content but the format, the stylistic features such as font and headings etc, and most importantly, focus on promoting your skills and personality in the most impressionable way possible. Professional development is something any dedicated and focused professional should always be doing throughout their career. They will never settle for what they have, but want to progress further, strive to improve, and achieve more. Fresh out of your studies, and of course dependent on your chosen career path, it might include working on a portfolio, making new contacts, networking, emailing potential new employers with examples of your work, researching reputable companies in your industry and whether they offer internships or similar opportunities. Importantly, KEEP INFORMED! Read the newspapers; current affairs, and things that are relevant to your industry. You want to be on top of your game for when you do get that job offer, not feeling stale and under prepared. Like I said, most of this, you will all probably know but it is sometimes nice to get a kick up the backside by a complete stranger (HA!)

>> Exercise. Join a gym. Swim. Go for a run. Cycle. In true British style, take up tennis to mark the Wimbledon season. There are so many options! If you are really struggling financially, work out in your room, stick on an exercise video, or put on a Yoga video from YouTube. I cannot talk from experience here, but I would imagine that Yoga is particularly great for balance, strength and calm in both body and mind. The benefits of any exercise are clear, but plentiful. Endorphins are your best friend in this situation. You can’t help but feel good after a workout because endorphins are released when we exercise. Whilst it might take some motivation to go out there and do it, the rewards will reap themselves almost instantly. And long term, you will feel better about your self, which will boost your self-confidence which has no doubt taken a beating since you’ve been feeling down. It is all a happy circle of benefits, so find out what makes you feel good, and get to it!

>> Voluntary work. If you have the time to do it, you consider yourself that type of temperament, and your financial status isn’t too critical, voluntary work should be an option you consider. To find opportunities in your area, visit https://do-it.org/. I have done some voluntary work in the past, and being selfless and helping others is a really great way to find that sense of purpose again. Nowadays, there are numerous volunteering options and it may even be possible to find something that is relevant to your career. Not only will it do wonders for your emotional wellbeing, it can really boost your CV as well. A lot of the work is part time with very minimal contribution (perhaps 1-2 evenings or a few hours a week) so it can easily fit around your other commitments, or lack of!

>> One thing I have really found a struggle is having three years of independence and then moving back home to live under my parents’ rules again. You can’t eat what you want or when you want, you get nagged and interfered and pressured and sometimes scolded like you are a child all over again. I love my mum to pieces and I totally respect that her rules apply when I live under her roof, but after the freedom I have had, the change can be stifling. If you’re finding this a problem, sit your parents down, explain your feelings and show your maturity. Convince them to consider you as an adult, and express that you need some more freedom or independence. Make compromises and negotiations. Whether that be contributing to making dinner or having a say in what you eat, to asking that you don’t have a curfew or get asked where you are going out to every five minutes. It is likely that your parents are oblivious to their behaviour or need reminding (gently, of course) that whilst you are still grateful for their support and their care, you need some more independence to match that which you experienced at university. After all, you don’t want to regress from the developments you have made during your time at university.

Finally, a word from the wise. I saw a friend of mine the other day and she kindly planted my feet firmly back on the ground and put things in perspective. If you are like me, it is likely that you have only JUST graduated. You have joined thousands of others who have all joined the already large unemployment pool. It is not a nice place to be, but it won’t be forever. Don’t put unnecessary pressure on yourself, and likewise, don’t let anyone else either. I get almost daily phone calls from my grandparents asking what I have applied for today, have I got anywhere with existing applications etc. It makes me feel that I am not doing enough, and I am doubting my abilities. Of course they are just caring in their own way and perhaps cannot see the pressure they are putting on me. So I am telling you. Spread the word. Get that balance. Keep proactive and keep busy. Keep hunting. But don’t make it the be all and end all. If you haven’t got a job and you only graduated a month ago, that is completely normal. A little pressure is good, but don’t overdo it. After all, ending up in a job you hate can often be worse than being unemployed.

I am trying to learn to embrace this free time that I have now, because I know I won’t get anything like this for a long time once I officially dive in to the working world. Have a think about what YOUR priorities are. They are different for everyone. Is your priority to progress in your career straight away? Are your finances more important? Will any old job do for now until you have some savings gathered? Are you wanting to get away and travel? There is no right or wrong answer, but figuring out where you stand and what needs to happen next will help you feel lots better!

Keep fighting the frown!

Jasmine X

One thought on “The Graduate Blues Part 2: Fighting the Frown

  1. Hey Jasmine!

    I’ve just come across your blog and think it’s great! I help manage a community of 140,000+ young people called The OpinionPanel Community (http://www.opinionpanel.co.uk/) Apart from paying our members to take part in research surveys, we have a dedicated article section which shares our member’s opinions, thoughts and rants! I’m very interested in getting a piece about graduation up for all you guys who’ve recently graduated, and this piece giving advice is perfect!
    Your articles would be seen by 1000’s of young people, your social media accounts/blog would be featured in your profile, and each month one writer wins £50 for writing the article of the month!

    I hope this is something you’d be interested in and I look forward to hearing from you 🙂

    Best Wishes, Andie

Leave a comment