September in photos

Todays post is a little later than planned as we are well and truly into October now. By the looks of it today, that is also cue for the rainy “let’s-stay-inside-all-day” autumnal weather to begin too.

I got up to a few fun things in September which I wanted to document visually on my blog, and also rave a little bit about how good they were.

ZSL Whipsnade Zoo

The zoo is one of my favourite places to go, although I don’t get to go often. I’m one of those crazy animal lovers, although elephants are one of my favourites! I’d heard lots of good things about this zoo, more so than the one in Central London. Plus being a product of the Zoological Society of London, it does lots of great work towards animal and habitat conservation and protecting endangered species as well as campaigning against the horrendous acts of cruelty animals fall victim to around the world. Read more about their work here: www.zsl.org

The zoo is the biggest in the UK and you can drive round it, but my friend and I thought the six and a half mile round trip walking would be much more fun – and tiring! You certainly get your money’s worth and you can pay an optional little extra fee on top of the very reasonable entry prices which goes towards maintaining the charity’s good work.

giraffe

The curious daddy giraffe!

Zoo blog 1

The relatives 😉

760

Baby Max the elephant

775

An “infinity pool” for penguins…although there are none in shot!

ZSL Whipsnade also ran a ‘Walking with Elephants’ experience up until very recently, which I was desperate to do but unfortunately it stopped at the end of the summer season just a few days before I went. Instead, I visited the elephants during their feeding time and listened to a talk about them, one of the many which are held for various animals throughout the day.

ZSL also hold Stampede runs as part of their fundraising events, running through the zoos themselves and around the local area. I am by no means a runner but it’s something I’m considering next year!

Indoor Skydiving at Airkix, Basingstoke

In June I celebrated my 21st birthday and received an Introductory Indoor Skydiving for 2 people experience. I’m a bit of a wimp and not good with heights at all so this was something a little less terrifying that I have wanted to do for some time which I thought would be the next best thing.

Apart from finding it really hard to breathe in and consequently looking like a goldfish, it was such great fun and my friend and I even had a few compliments from our fellow flyers on our great form in the air – that’s dancers for you! 😉

I couldn’t salvage any good quality shots from the DVD I got, and I probably wouldn’t embarrass myself even if I did have some however I am trying to take a decent shot of the little souvenir keyring I got at the end just to prove I did, and of course to show off how splendid I look in a boiler suit!

During summer breaks and when I’m not at uni, I work in a lovely little tea room. So naturally afternoon tea is one of my favourite things ever, and I’ve become quite the scone expert (only at eating them, not actually making them!)

As all my friends from home were starting or returning to university, it was time for lots of goodbyes which are never anyone’s favourite thing to do. I went to two lovely places nearby to where I live in Hampshire, places I’ve both been to before but will continue to go back to. What sells it for me with both of these places is the decor and the interior design. I’m a sucker for that sort of thing, and anywhere that looks quaint and cute, I’ll tend to end up there!

133

La Di Da Cupcakes, Camberley

http://www.la-di-da-cupcakes.com/

afternoon tea

Redfields Garden Centre

http://www.bluediamond.gg/redfields-garden-centre/

As well as great food, this garden centre does really lovely items for the home as well as bath bombs, home made soaps and lots of other treats – I often go there when hunting out birthday presents for people!

In my next blog I’m going to be sharing some healthy yet cheap and cheerful meals that I cook as a student!

Jasmine x

Leave a comment